PRESENT AND AWARE

January 10, 2010 at 5:08 pm 2 comments

Written 9/9/08

I have to preface my writing today, to explain that about 15 years ago, I had a revelation when I read an article about how important it is to create a space in our homes that makes us truly feel good being there. While I always enjoyed making my rooms look nice, I somehow realized at that time, that I had never thought about how I felt in those rooms. I was more concerned with my budget and how to get the look I wanted in the least expensive way possible. Not that it was wrong; I just gave no thought to how the space would make me feel when it was finished. So, with that article, I gave myself permission to make my bedroom into one where I felt comforted and safe. I bought linens that I could snuggle in to. I painted the room the palest lavender I could find and found that its softness made me feel soft inside. I felt so peaceful there. I always remembered that room and when I bought my very first house 6 years ago, I wanted my new space to make me feel great. On a limited budget, I did the best that I could, always keeping in mind, the goal of wanting to feel good being there. When I finished the inside, I concentrated on landscaping the yard. I wanted a backyard retreat that was private, peaceful and very beautiful. For 5 years, I planted and planted. I dug so many beds and filled them with shrubs, annuals and perennials. The once barren backyard now had trees, a brick patio and space divided into several garden rooms. Topping it off this year, was the purchase of a 10 x 13 rectangular market umbrella that made my patio feel like a completed and comfortable outdoor room. This summer was the first time that I stopped long enough to enjoy what I had created. And enjoy it, I did. This was the summer I found joy and peace without anything out of the ordinary happening in my life. In fact, a 3 year relationship ended at the beginning of the summer and I spent the summer solo. All by myself, I had the best summer ever, because it came from inside of me. So today, when I wrote, this was what my spirit had to say.

Your path is charted. The present moment is one grain of sand on the way to your destiny, which is to learn to live life fully. You read much about joy, which is in conjunction with your own quest and discovery. You have asked for joy and peace for many years and you have tasted it in its simplicity. It is not elusive, as you have learned. It is tied to being present and aware. Your surroundings have been important for you as a vehicle to experience this. This was not necessary, but for you it was important. You worked to create and you have taken the time to rest and enjoy. You got a glimpse of what God saw in working for 6 days and resting on the 7th. The glory of your creation was realized and the feelings that followed were truth. In its purest form, truth of the moment became apparent. The moment contained joy, not only from the beauty and the accomplishment, but from the experience of being with it. This union of thought, creation and the creator is an experience that produces profound joy. You are realizing the completeness, the total fulfillment of this. There was nothing lacking in those moments of recognition. It was complete. It was beautiful. It was full of spirit. It was a union to savor. Now that you have experienced it, you are free to duplicate it for yourself and others.

How do I relate this to others?

Write of your experiences, your dreams and of feeling the effects of your dreams. Each person’s dreams are special to them. What you bring is how you found the place inside where joy filled you and you tell how taking the time to be with the space you made for yourself, allowed you to be present and fully recognize the magnificence of your creation and experience. It was a union of presence within and without. It was full understanding. You allowed what was there to be one with your spirit.

When I sat quietly on the patio, under the umbrella, looking at the colors surrounding me, I noticed that the sound of the bird songs and the rustle of the wind through the leaves were so much clearer. I watched a hummingbird scare off a bee from my new honeysuckle vine. She chased the bee away and went back to drinking from the flower, but not before she turned around to make sure he wasn’t coming back. I saw what was in front of me with eyes that had never before taken the time to see. It was such an overpowering experience that I felt intense happiness, simply because I had immersed myself in nature with my senses exposed. I was not only seeing and hearing, but I was feeling, and I experienced that fully. I realized that I was totally at peace and joyful. I understood that those feelings resulted just from awareness. I didn’t have to do anything else. I was truly amazed and I am in awe, all over again, now writing and remembering. It makes me know that I can recreate those feelings any time I want. The cold weather might be a challenge though, but I’ll cross that bridge when it comes. For now, I’ll remember that I’m happy, just for reliving a moment past.

Thank you.

Entry filed under: 2008.

THE ESSENCE OF BEAUTY LONGING

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patti  |  March 2, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    This is a fantastic post. You made me feel as if I was right there with you. By the Way, Welcome to BlognTweet. See you there. Oh, also I would like to follow your blogs,but don’t find any “follow widgets. Am I blind? They are probably staring me in the face. LOL!

    God Bless!

    PJ

    Reply
    • 2. joycerothman  |  March 2, 2010 at 6:11 pm

      Patti,

      Thank you so much. I’d love for you to subscribe and you’re motivating me to post more! The link is just to the right of the post. Let me know if you can’t see it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 571 hits
January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

